Guyana lietuviškai

Play Guyana tarimas /ɡʌɪˈanə/

Guyana vertimas

  1. gajana

Paaiškinimas anglų kalba

  • a republic in northeastern South America; formerly part of the British Empire, but it achieved independence from the United Kingdom in 1966
  • A republic in the north of South America, east of BRAZIL. Its capital is Georgetown. It was formerly called British Guiana and its history is allied with that of the region of Guiana which comprised British Guiana, FRENCH GUIANA, and Dutch Guiana (now SURINAME). It was founded about 1620 by the Dutch and settled in the 18th century by many non-Dutch, mainly British, to whom it was ceded in 1814. Guyana gained independence in 1966 and became a republic in 1970. The name is probably of Indian origin meaning respectable, but some derive it from the Guarani guai (born) + ana (kin), implying a united and interrelated race of people. (From Webster's New Geographical Dictionary, 1988, p477&Room, Brewer's Dictionary of Names, 1992, p223)
Daugiau paaiškinimų